The questions
Eight questions live here. Seven checked so far.
- Is there a tool that detects ai writing?yes
- Is there an app that can humanize ai text?yes
- Is there an ai that can help me write a book?yes
- Is there an ai that can create powerpoint presentations?yes
- Is there an ai that can write in my voice?yes
- Is there an app for writing a book?yes
- Is there an app that can detect ai?yes
- Is there an ai that can make a powerpoint presentation?yes
The things
Every thing we've checked here. From 7 checked questions.
Vendors measure free use differently, so we show their own units. Where one of our products fits, it sits in the list with an "ours" label, never forced to the top. Ours: made by the same studio that runs this site.
AI-text detector for writing and essays, with a Chrome extension.
- Free
- Up to 10,000 words a month, plus the Chrome extension (its own FAQ).
- Paid
- from €9.99 a month (billed annually), Premium
- Best at
- A generous free monthly allowance for checking the odd essay or post.
- The catch
- Prices showed to us in euros, so UK prices may differ; the cheapest paid plan is Premium at €9.99 a month billed annually.
- web
- Chrome extension
AI and plagiarism checker aimed at publishers and content teams.
- Free
- Basic: 3 scans a day, up to 2,000 words a scan, AI detection only.
- Paid
- from $12.95 a month (billed annually), Pro
- Best at
- Checking web content at volume, with Chrome, Google Docs and Firefox add-ons.
- The catch
- The free plan is AI detection only, capped at 3 scans a day.
- web
- Chrome extension
- Google Docs add-on
- Firefox extension
AI-text detector that also checks images and plagiarism.
- Free
- Up to 2,000 words a day and 3 image detection scans a day, no card needed.
- Paid
- from $20 a month (billed annually), Individual
- Best at
- Daily free checks, plus image detection on the free plan.
- The catch
- Paid plans are priced in US dollars, and the cheapest is $20 a month on annual billing.
- web
- Chrome extension
- Google Docs
A free stylometric check: a human-vs-AI confidence score plus which habits read as machine-written.
- Free
- The check itself is free with a free account; no card needed. Humanising toward your own voice is paid, from £12 a month.
- Paid
- from £12 a month, Writer
- Best at
- Showing you why text reads as AI (sentence rhythm, hedging, stock phrases), not just a percentage.
- The catch
- You need a free account to see results, and it is a style check, so it can flag well-edited or second-language writing.
- web
The detector many schools and universities run on submitted work.
- Free
- No individual free tier.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Knowing what your institution's checker is likely to say, if you're a student.
- The catch
- You can't buy its AI detection as an individual: Turnitin says it is only available through an institutional or organisational subscription. Its own guidance says results under 20% are less reliable and it needs 300+ words.
- institutional platforms
AI tool that builds a presentation from a text prompt.
- Free
- Roughly 400 credits on the free plan, per Gamma's guide.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Exports to PDF, PowerPoint (PPTX) and PNG on every plan, including free.
- The catch
- Free exports carry a "Made by Gamma" badge, and its card-based layout can need small fixes after exporting to PowerPoint.
- web
Presentation maker with AI content generation and smart slide layouts.
- Free
- 14-day free trial, credit card required.
- Paid
- from $14.50 per month (Pro, billed annually)
- Best at
- Unlimited AI content generation and PowerPoint import and export on all plans.
- The catch
- No free plan: it offers a 14-day trial that needs a credit card, then charges automatically unless cancelled.
- web
AI assistant built into PowerPoint that helps create and edit slides from a description.
- Free
- PowerPoint for the web is free, with basic templates but without advanced Copilot features.
- Paid
- from £84.99 per year (Microsoft 365 Personal)
- Best at
- Working inside PowerPoint itself, so the file is already a PowerPoint deck.
- The catch
- Needs a Microsoft 365 Personal or Family subscription; usage limits apply and the AI features cannot be shared. PowerPoint for the web is free but without the advanced Copilot features.
- web
- windows
- mac
- ios
- android
Design tool with an AI presentation maker.
- Free
- Limited AI uses on Free, per Canva's help centre.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Generating a designed deck from a prompt inside Canva's editor.
- The catch
- Free accounts have a limited number of AI uses (up to 20 standard or premium AI tool uses per Canva's help centre); more needs Canva Pro.
- web
- ios
- android
Web presentation tool with Gemini, which can create slides from a prompt and Drive content.
- Free
- Not stated on the page we read.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Collaboration, plus importing PowerPoint and Canva presentations.
- The catch
- The page we read did not say what is free or which Google plans include Gemini in Slides.
- web
- ios
- android
AI writing tool aimed at novels and screenplays.
- Free
- A free trial, no credit card required, per its pricing page.
- Paid
- from $10 per month billed yearly (Hobby & Student)
- Best at
- Its Professional plan is described as best suited to longer projects like novels or screenplays, with developmental edits, line edits and beta reads.
- The catch
- AI features stop working without a paid plan, though you keep access to what you wrote.
- web
Writing platform for novelists with a Codex for characters and locations plus AI help.
- Free
- No permanent free plan; a 21-day trial with unrestricted access to all features.
- Paid
- from $8 per month (Hobbyist, the cheapest plan with AI)
- Best at
- Story organisation: the Codex tracks characters and places while you write.
- The catch
- No permanent free plan, only a 21-day trial, and the cheapest plan (Scribe) has no AI features. From Hobbyist you bring your own AI key.
- web
AI writing tool for novels and screenplays that helps with plot consistency and editing.
- Free
- 1,000 AI credits a month, no time limit, test book or screenplay creation.
- Paid
- from $15.83 per month (Plus, billed annually)
- Best at
- A free plan that does not expire, with 1,000 AI credits a month to test book creation.
- The catch
- The free plan is for testing; full-length manuscripts, AI editing and PDF or DOCX export are on the paid Plus plan.
- web
General AI assistant for chatting, drafting and editing text.
- Free
- Free plan: chat on web, desktop and mobile, with up to 5 projects, per its pricing page.
- Paid
- from $17 per month (Pro, billed annually)
- Best at
- Free plan with Projects (up to 5) for keeping chapters and notes together as documents.
- The catch
- It is a general assistant, not a manuscript tool: there is no built-in book structure, so you manage the chapters yourself.
- web
- desktop
- ios
- android
ScriptGrain
oursMeasures your writing style from your own samples and drafts new text in that voice.
- Free
- One voice profile, one writing analysis and one free draft, no card required.
- Paid
- from £12 per month (Writer, 40 credits)
- Best at
- Drafting in your own measured voice, up to 15,000 words in one draft, with a free draft to try.
- The catch
- One draft is capped at 15,000 words, so a whole book is built piece by piece. It is a drafting tool, not a manuscript organiser.
- web
Standing instructions applied to all chats, plus optional Memory that can use past chats and saved memories.
- Free
- Custom instructions are on all plans (vendor help page); Memory is limited on Free per the pricing page.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Setting a standing tone once and having it applied to every chat.
- The catch
- You describe your style yourself, within a limit: 1,500 characters on Free and Go, 5,000 on Plus, Pro, Business and Education. The help page does not say it measures your writing.
- web
- desktop
- ios
- android
Account-wide "Instructions for Claude", per-project instructions and skills that can "apply communication patterns based on your own writing or preferences".
- Free
- A free plan exists, with Pro at the price shown (Claude pricing page).
- Paid
- from $17 per month (billed annually; $20 monthly)
- Best at
- Letting you build repeatable behaviours, such as a tone or format, that Claude applies when you turn them on.
- The catch
- You supply and maintain the description of your style; the support article does not say Claude measures it from samples. That article is inconsistent on whether project instructions need a paid plan.
- web
- desktop
- mobile
A marketing platform whose Brand Voice feature "analyzes your content's tone of voice" and applies tone and formatting rules.
- Free
- A 7-day free trial.
- Paid
- from $59 per seat per month (Pro, billed yearly)
- Best at
- Keeping a team's writing on-brand, with style guides and knowledge assets.
- The catch
- Aimed at marketing teams: the Pro plan includes 2 Brand Voices per seat.
- web
- api
A humaniser that rewrites AI text with four preset tones or a custom voice, available with a free account.
- Free
- A free account unlocks the Humanizer agent with custom voice profiles (vendor page).
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Free voice options and wide app coverage, including Google Docs and Microsoft Office.
- The catch
- It rewrites existing AI text rather than drafting from your brief, and Grammarly says it is not intended to bypass AI detectors. Full functionality needs Grammarly Pro.
- web
- chrome
- ios
- android
- desktop
Long-form writing app for manuscripts, with a binder, corkboard and research files.
- Free
- A 30-day free trial of the desktop app.
- Paid
- from £22.99 one-off (iOS app, UK App Store)
- Best at
- Compiling a manuscript to Word, PDF, Final Draft and plain text.
- The catch
- Licences are sold separately per platform, and reviewers on the iOS listing say the iPhone and iPad version lacks features of the desktop app.
- mac
- windows
- ios
Write and format a book in one app, then export EPUB, PDF or DOCX.
- Free
- No free trial stated; 30-day money-back guarantee.
- Paid
- from $147 one-time
- Best at
- Writing and formatting together, with 17 templates and device previews, for eBooks and print.
- The catch
- Priced in US dollars, and no free trial is stated, only a 30-day money-back guarantee.
- web
- windows
- mac
- linux
Web writing app with outlining boards, collaboration and EPUB or print-PDF export.
- Free
- Core writing, planning and formatting are free.
- Paid
- from $4.99 per month (Studio Essential, optional)
- Best at
- Being free: writing and formatting are free, with planning boards included.
- The catch
- Web-based only, with no dedicated mobile app. Advanced outlining, writing statistics and dark mode need a paid plan.
- web
Book formatting and design software for ebooks and paperbacks.
- Free
- Not stated on the page we read.
- Paid
- from $199.99 (Ebooks), $249.99 (Press, ebooks and paperbacks)
- Best at
- Layout and typography across Kindle, Kobo and Apple Books.
- The catch
- Mac only, and it is a formatting tool, not a writing app: you import a finished manuscript.
- mac
Free word processor with offline editing and Gemini writing help.
- Free
- Google says anyone with a Google Account can create in Docs; some features need a paid Workspace plan.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Being free and available on phones, tablets and browsers, with offline use.
- The catch
- Not book-specific: no manuscript binder or ebook export built for books. Some features need a paid Google Workspace plan.
- web
- ios
- android
A free extension and web tools that check images, video, text and audio for AI generation, and guess which generator made an image or video.
- Free
- The Chrome extension is free with no login, per its Chrome Web Store listing; platform-scale use is by contacting sales.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Covering every content type in one free tool, with no login.
- The catch
- It shows a likelihood, not a verdict. NewsGuard reported that a Hive result of 96.9 percent "likely AI-generated" was shared online to claim a real video was fake; Hive did not respond to NewsGuard's requests for comment.
- chrome
- web
- api
A detector for images, text, voice, music, video and deepfakes, sold mainly as an API with a file-upload checker on its home page.
- Free
- $5 in free credits to start: 1 million words of text detection free every month and 20 AI image checks.
- Paid
- from $5 per month (Pro, includes $10 of credits)
- Best at
- Spanning the most content types, from one set of credits.
- The catch
- In NewsGuard's 2026 test it flagged 1 of 15 real photos as AI; its CEO said low image quality can sometimes cause a false positive. Its 98.9% accuracy figure is the vendor's own, from its own evaluation.
- web
- api
Upload an image to Gemini and ask whether it was made or edited with Google AI; Gemini checks for the SynthID watermark.
- Free
- Google says it is rolling out to everyone in the Gemini app; plan limits not checked.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Giving a firm answer for Google-made images, because it looks for Google's own watermark.
- The catch
- Per Google's post it verifies images from Google AI only; video and audio support is described as coming soon, and checking other makers' content depends on future C2PA support.
- Gemini app
Upload audio or video to see the probability it was generated with ElevenLabs voice technology.
- Free
- Free, no login required, per the vendor page.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Checking suspect audio with no login; it uses the first minute of your sample.
- The catch
- It covers ElevenLabs audio only, and the page says it does not reliably classify audio from the Eleven v3 model.
- web
A free web tool that rewrites AI-generated text to sound more natural, keeping the meaning.
- Free
- The basic web tool is free; a free Grammarly account unlocks the Humanizer agent with custom voice profiles, per the vendor page.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Being free to try on the web, with a custom voice option once you have a free account.
- The catch
- Grammarly says plainly: "This tool is not intended to bypass AI detectors." Full functionality needs a paid Grammarly Pro subscription.
- web
- chrome
- ios
- android
- desktop
A humaniser that smooths stiff phrasing and repetitive rhythm in AI drafts, in several languages and four English dialects (US, UK, AU, CA).
- Free
- Humanize up to 100 words, limited usage, on the free plan (Premium page).
- Paid
- from $8.33 per month (billed annually)
- Best at
- Fast rewrites in UK English, with an extension for ChatGPT and Gemini on Premium.
- The catch
- The free plan humanises only up to 100 words with limited usage. QuillBot's own page says to follow your institution's AI guidelines and that passing off someone else's idea as your own, even reworded, is unethical.
- web
- apps
- browser extension
A paid humaniser sold on making AI text pass AI detection, with a money-back guarantee if the output is flagged.
- Free
- A trial limited to 250 words; paid activation needed for more.
- Paid
- from $5 per month ($60 a year, Starter, 10,000 words a month)
- Best at
- Higher word allowances than most, from 10,000 words a month on the cheapest plan.
- The catch
- The free trial is limited to 250 words. It is sold on beating detectors, and universities such as Sheffield treat passing off AI content as your own as academic misconduct.
- web
- api
A humaniser and writer marketed for bypassing AI detection, with Academic and other tones.
- Free
- The vendor page mentions a free trial without stating limits.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Offering many extras (writer, detector, Chrome extension) alongside the humaniser.
- The catch
- Its pages market it as making text "undetectable", including for essays, which most universities treat as misconduct if submitted as your own work. Detector-passing claims are the vendor's own.
- web
- chrome
Measures the habits that read as machine-written (uniform sentence length, stock phrases) and rewrites toward natural variation. The humaniser aims at "human"; its separate polish step aims at your own measured voice.
- Free
- Free plan: one voice profile, one writing analysis and one free draft; humanise uses credits on paid plans (£12 a month and up).
- Paid
- from £12 per month (Writer; £115 a year)
- Best at
- Showing why text reads as machine-written, with a before-and-after score on up to three passes.
- The catch
- It says beating detectors "is not the promise" and that detectors are unreliable in both directions. Paid plans only for humanising, and a voice profile needs samples of your own writing.
- web
- api
The answer key
Three honest answers.
yes
yesReal things do this today. Here's the shortlist.
partly
partlyThings exist, but they only do some of it, or not well.
not really
not reallyNothing does this properly. We say so, and point to the nearest fix.