The shortlist
5 things that do it.
Long-form writing app for manuscripts, with a binder, corkboard and research files.
- Free
- A 30-day free trial of the desktop app.
- Paid
- from £22.99 one-off (iOS app, UK App Store)
- Best at
- Compiling a manuscript to Word, PDF, Final Draft and plain text.
- The catch
- Licences are sold separately per platform, and reviewers on the iOS listing say the iPhone and iPad version lacks features of the desktop app.
- mac
- windows
- ios
Write and format a book in one app, then export EPUB, PDF or DOCX.
- Free
- No free trial stated; 30-day money-back guarantee.
- Paid
- from $147 one-time
- Best at
- Writing and formatting together, with 17 templates and device previews, for eBooks and print.
- The catch
- Priced in US dollars, and no free trial is stated, only a 30-day money-back guarantee.
- web
- windows
- mac
- linux
Web writing app with outlining boards, collaboration and EPUB or print-PDF export.
- Free
- Core writing, planning and formatting are free.
- Paid
- from $4.99 per month (Studio Essential, optional)
- Best at
- Being free: writing and formatting are free, with planning boards included.
- The catch
- Web-based only, with no dedicated mobile app. Advanced outlining, writing statistics and dark mode need a paid plan.
- web
Book formatting and design software for ebooks and paperbacks.
- Free
- Not stated on the page we read.
- Paid
- from $199.99 (Ebooks), $249.99 (Press, ebooks and paperbacks)
- Best at
- Layout and typography across Kindle, Kobo and Apple Books.
- The catch
- Mac only, and it is a formatting tool, not a writing app: you import a finished manuscript.
- mac
Free word processor with offline editing and Gemini writing help.
- Free
- Google says anyone with a Google Account can create in Docs; some features need a paid Workspace plan.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Being free and available on phones, tablets and browsers, with offline use.
- The catch
- Not book-specific: no manuscript binder or ebook export built for books. Some features need a paid Google Workspace plan.
- web
- ios
- android
The same shortlist, as a table
| Thing | Free tier | Paid from | Platforms | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scrivenerrel="nofollow noopener" | A 30-day free trial of the desktop app. | £22.99 one-off (iOS app, UK App Store) | mac, windows, ios | Licences are sold separately per platform, and reviewers on the iOS listing say the iPhone and iPad version lacks features of the desktop app. |
| Atticusrel="nofollow noopener" | No free trial stated; 30-day money-back guarantee. | $147 one-time | web, windows, mac, linux | Priced in US dollars, and no free trial is stated, only a 30-day money-back guarantee. |
| Reedsy Studiorel="nofollow noopener" | Core writing, planning and formatting are free. | $4.99 per month (Studio Essential, optional) | web | Web-based only, with no dedicated mobile app. Advanced outlining, writing statistics and dark mode need a paid plan. |
| Vellumrel="nofollow noopener" | Not stated on the page we read. | $199.99 (Ebooks), $249.99 (Press, ebooks and paperbacks) | mac | Mac only, and it is a formatting tool, not a writing app: you import a finished manuscript. |
| Google Docsrel="nofollow noopener" | Google says anyone with a Google Account can create in Docs; some features need a paid Workspace plan. | not checked | web, ios, android | Not book-specific: no manuscript binder or ebook export built for books. Some features need a paid Google Workspace plan. |
How we checked
What we read, and what we haven't tested yet.
On 2026-10-02 we read the Scrivener overview and store pages, its UK App Store listing, and the product pages for Atticus, Reedsy Studio, Vellum and Google Docs. Nothing was tested hands-on, so treat this as research from the vendors' own pages, not a verdict from someone who has written a novel in each one.
If none of these fit
The manual way.
If you want an AI to draft rather than organise, that's a different job: see the related page on AI that can help write a book. ScriptGrain drafts in your own measured voice, but it's a drafting tool, not a manuscript app, so we left it off this list.