The questions
Six questions live here. Five checked so far.
- Is there a website that can unblur photos?partly
- Is there an ai that can enhance image quality?yes
- Is there a website that can detect ai images?partly
- Is there an ai that can edit photos?yes
- Is there an ai that can make 3d models?yes
- Is there an app that can find clothing from a picture?being checked
The things
Every thing we've checked here. From 5 checked questions.
Vendors measure free use differently, so we show their own units.
Free web tools and a Chrome extension that check images and video for AI generation, and predict which generator made them.
- Free
- The Chrome extension is free with no login (Chrome Web Store listing).
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Free checks with no login, by right-click, upload or paste.
- The catch
- It shows a likelihood only. In NewsGuard's test Hive flagged none of 15 real photos but caught 9 of 15 heavily manipulated ones (73.33 percent), and a Hive result was cited online to wrongly call a real video fake.
- chrome
- web
- api
Upload an image to see whether it is AI or real, with a generator breakdown, plus deepfake checks, mainly sold as an API.
- Free
- $5 in free credits to start, including 20 AI image checks.
- Paid
- from $5 per month (Pro, includes $10 of credits)
- Best at
- Naming the likely generator, and catching all 15 heavily manipulated images in NewsGuard's test.
- The catch
- In that same test it flagged 1 of 15 real photos as AI; its CEO said low image quality can sometimes cause a false positive. Its 98.9% accuracy figure is the vendor's own.
- web
- api
A drag-and-drop checker that reports how likely an image is AI-generated and whether faces were manipulated.
- Free
- A drag-and-drop checker is on the page; usage limits not stated there.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Flagging all 15 real photos as real in NewsGuard's test.
- The catch
- The same test found it identified only 5 of 15 heavily altered images (33 percent). Its founder said the base model is made for fully AI-generated or heavily edited images.
- web
- api
Upload an image to Gemini and ask "Is this AI-generated?"; Gemini checks for the SynthID watermark.
- Free
- Google says it is available to everyone in the Gemini app; plan limits not checked.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Checking images made or edited with Google AI for its SynthID watermark.
- The catch
- Per Google's post it verifies Google AI images only; checking content from other makers depends on future C2PA support.
- Gemini app
Drag a file in to inspect its Content Credentials, the signed record of who made it and how it changed.
- Free
- No price or account is mentioned on the Verify page.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Showing a tamper-evident creation and editing history when the file carries one.
- The catch
- The page itself says Content Credentials are still rolling out, so an image may have nothing to view. No credentials does not mean an image is real or fake.
- web
A web, mobile and desktop photo editor with an AI unblur tool.
- Free
- Unblur with standard-quality downloads is free and needs no sign-up; images are deleted within 24 hours (Fotor).
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Free unblur in the browser with no sign-up, per its page.
- The catch
- Fotor lists camera shake, slight motion blur, soft focus and compression blur as what it fixes, and says compression may limit detail.
- web
- ios
- android
- windows
- mac
The Google Photos app's Unblur tool, found under Edit then Actions.
- Free
- Photo Unblur is free for all Google Photos users (Google, 2024 announcement).
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Unblurring photos you already have stored in Google Photos, at no cost.
- The catch
- On Android the improved Unblur needs a device with at least 4GB of RAM, and some editing features are not supported on 32-bit devices.
- android
- ios
A web enhancer that sharpens soft focus, recovers detail and restores damaged photos.
- Free
- 10 free credits on sign-up, upscaling to 8 megapixels, watermark on output.
- Paid
- from $9 per month (billed annually)
- Best at
- Sharpening and enhancing in a browser, with an Old Photo mode.
- The catch
- The free plan has 10 credits and watermarked output.
- web
- api
A photo enhancer app that sharpens blurry or low-resolution photos, with a focus on faces and old pictures.
- Free
- Free to download with in-app purchases (UK App Store).
- Paid
- from £9.99 per month
- Best at
- Face and old-photo enhancement.
- The catch
- The UK App Store privacy label lists device ID and user ID as tracking identifiers and your email as linked to you; photos and videos are listed as not linked. Check its terms before uploading photos of people.
- ios
- web
Photoshop's Firefly-powered tool that adds or removes content in an image from a text prompt.
- Free
- No permanent free tier on the plans page; all individual plans include a 7-day free trial.
- Paid
- from £21.98 per month
- Best at
- Adding or removing content non-destructively from simple text prompts, on desktop, web and mobile.
- The catch
- Adobe lists limits of 40MB, 8,000 x 8,000 pixels and JPEG or PNG files, and says it is not available in China.
- windows
- mac
- web
- ios
- android
The Google Photos app's built-in AI editing tools, including Magic Editor and Magic Eraser.
- Free
- Magic Eraser, Photo Unblur and Portrait Light free for all users; 10 Magic Editor saves a month on Android and iOS (Google).
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Free AI edits inside the app you may already use to store photos.
- The catch
- Beyond 10 Magic Editor saves a month you need a Pixel phone or a Premium Google One plan (2TB or more). Google's announcement dates from 2024, so check the app for current limits.
- android
- ios
A browser-based photo editor and design suite with AI tools such as generative fill, object removal and upscaling.
- Free
- Free version with a core feature set, no payment or account required (Pixlr homepage).
- Paid
- from $1.99 per month
- Best at
- A full editor plus AI tools in the browser, with a free version and no account needed (per its homepage).
- The catch
- Its homepage lists ad-free editing, expanded AI credits and access to all models as premium features.
- web
- ios
- android
An AI photo editor built for product photography: background removal, retouching, AI fill and product scenes.
- Free
- The App Store lists it as free with in-app purchases and the site says you can start free; the exact free allowance was not seen.
- Paid
- from €5.99 a month (billed yearly), Pro
- Best at
- Background removal and product-photo editing in batches.
- The catch
- Built for e-commerce product photos; paid plans give a monthly pool of AI credits (Pro 6,000, Max 20,000) for the heavier AI features.
- web
- ios
- android
- mac
A desktop AI upscaler that enlarges images up to 16x, with plugins for Photoshop and Lightroom Classic.
- Free
- Trial not stated on the pages we read.
- Paid
- from $19 per month (annual plan, billed monthly)
- Best at
- Enlarging photos with a choice of models, local or cloud rendering.
- The catch
- Its Wonder models are labelled generative upscaling, so they synthesise pixels; Topaz's developer docs file Gigapixel under precision, Wonder under generative and Bloom under creative upscaling.
- windows
- mac
Free, open-source desktop AI upscaler built on Real-ESRGAN, with a newer cloud version.
- Free
- The desktop app is free and open source (AGPL-3.0).
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Free upscaling on your own computer, up to 16x per its site.
- The catch
- Needs a Vulkan-compatible GPU (many integrated GPUs do not work), and the project says it cannot de-blur or adjust focus.
- windows
- mac
- linux
- web
An AI image and video upscaler and creative suite.
- Free
- The pricing page shows paid plans only; no free tier was listed.
- Paid
- from €12 per month (billed annually)
- Best at
- Paid upscaling and creative enhancement inside a wider set of AI image tools.
- The catch
- Priced in euros, excluding VAT, and runs on a credit system where different tools use different amounts.
- web
Text and image to 3D, with texturing, rigging and animation, plugins and a mobile app.
- Free
- 100 credits a month, per Meshy; outputs CC BY 4.0 and not private.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Going from a prompt or photo to a model in many formats (.glb, .fbx, .obj, .stl, .blend), with plugins for Blender, Unity and Unreal.
- The catch
- Free plan outputs are CC BY 4.0 (commercial use with credit, not private); exclusive rights come on paid plans.
- web
- ios
- android
- api
AI 3D generator with multi-image to 3D and HD textures.
- Free
- Page says you can generate for free before confirming; credit amounts not stated.
- Paid
- from $24 per month (billed annually), Creator
- Best at
- Higher-detail models from several images, with an API on the Business plan.
- The catch
- Direct credits cost $1.50 each; the Creator plan lists unlimited export and any use, so check which plan your use needs.
- web
- api
Browser 3D design tool with AI 3D generation, for interactive web 3D.
- Free
- $0 plan: limited personal files, unlimited viewers, watermarked web exports.
- Paid
- from $12 per month (billed annually), Hobby
- Best at
- Building interactive 3D scenes for the web, with GLTF, USDZ and STL export.
- The catch
- AI 3D generation needs a paid plan (from Hobby), and GLTF, USDZ and STL export start at Pro; the free plan watermarks web exports.
- web
AI 3D generation with GLB and OBJ export, plugins for game engines.
- Free
- Guest plan: 1 AI 3D generation per day, personal-use licence.
- Paid
- from $12.50 per month (billed annually), Plus
- Best at
- Game-ready models in GLB or OBJ.
- The catch
- Free plan is 1 AI generation a day and personal use only; commercial licence needs Plus or Pro.
- web
Open-source text or image to 3D model, exporting GLB meshes and Gaussians.
- Free
- Free to download; MIT licence for models and most code.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Free, local generation under an MIT licence, with GLB output.
- The catch
- You run it yourself: it needs Linux and at least 16GB of GPU memory, so it is not a point-and-click app.
- linux
The answer key
Three honest answers.
yes
yesReal things do this today. Here's the shortlist.
partly
partlyThings exist, but they only do some of it, or not well.
not really
not reallyNothing does this properly. We say so, and point to the nearest fix.