The shortlist
5 things that do it.
Text and image to 3D, with texturing, rigging and animation, plugins and a mobile app.
- Free
- 100 credits a month, per Meshy; outputs CC BY 4.0 and not private.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Going from a prompt or photo to a model in many formats (.glb, .fbx, .obj, .stl, .blend), with plugins for Blender, Unity and Unreal.
- The catch
- Free plan outputs are CC BY 4.0 (commercial use with credit, not private); exclusive rights come on paid plans.
- web
- ios
- android
- api
AI 3D generator with multi-image to 3D and HD textures.
- Free
- Page says you can generate for free before confirming; credit amounts not stated.
- Paid
- from $24 per month (billed annually), Creator
- Best at
- Higher-detail models from several images, with an API on the Business plan.
- The catch
- Direct credits cost $1.50 each; the Creator plan lists unlimited export and any use, so check which plan your use needs.
- web
- api
Browser 3D design tool with AI 3D generation, for interactive web 3D.
- Free
- $0 plan: limited personal files, unlimited viewers, watermarked web exports.
- Paid
- from $12 per month (billed annually), Hobby
- Best at
- Building interactive 3D scenes for the web, with GLTF, USDZ and STL export.
- The catch
- AI 3D generation needs a paid plan (from Hobby), and GLTF, USDZ and STL export start at Pro; the free plan watermarks web exports.
- web
AI 3D generation with GLB and OBJ export, plugins for game engines.
- Free
- Guest plan: 1 AI 3D generation per day, personal-use licence.
- Paid
- from $12.50 per month (billed annually), Plus
- Best at
- Game-ready models in GLB or OBJ.
- The catch
- Free plan is 1 AI generation a day and personal use only; commercial licence needs Plus or Pro.
- web
Open-source text or image to 3D model, exporting GLB meshes and Gaussians.
- Free
- Free to download; MIT licence for models and most code.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Free, local generation under an MIT licence, with GLB output.
- The catch
- You run it yourself: it needs Linux and at least 16GB of GPU memory, so it is not a point-and-click app.
- linux
The same shortlist, as a table
| Thing | Free tier | Paid from | Platforms | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meshyrel="nofollow noopener" | 100 credits a month, per Meshy; outputs CC BY 4.0 and not private. | not checked | web, ios, android, api | Free plan outputs are CC BY 4.0 (commercial use with credit, not private); exclusive rights come on paid plans. |
| Hyper3D Rodinrel="nofollow noopener" | Page says you can generate for free before confirming; credit amounts not stated. | $24 per month (billed annually), Creator | web, api | Direct credits cost $1.50 each; the Creator plan lists unlimited export and any use, so check which plan your use needs. |
| Splinerel="nofollow noopener" | $0 plan: limited personal files, unlimited viewers, watermarked web exports. | $12 per month (billed annually), Hobby | web | AI 3D generation needs a paid plan (from Hobby), and GLTF, USDZ and STL export start at Pro; the free plan watermarks web exports. |
| Sloydrel="nofollow noopener" | Guest plan: 1 AI 3D generation per day, personal-use licence. | $12.50 per month (billed annually), Plus | web | Free plan is 1 AI generation a day and personal use only; commercial licence needs Plus or Pro. |
| TRELLIS (Microsoft)rel="nofollow noopener" | Free to download; MIT licence for models and most code. | not checked | linux | You run it yourself: it needs Linux and at least 16GB of GPU memory, so it is not a point-and-click app. |
How we checked
What we read, and what we haven't tested yet.
We read the pricing pages of Meshy, Hyper3D Rodin, Spline and Sloyd, Meshy's home page, Microsoft's TRELLIS GitHub page and the Assets for Three.js home page, all on 2026-10-02. Nothing was tested hands-on. Tripo's site and Copilot 3D's page could not be read, so they aren't listed.
If none of these fit
The manual way.
If you need web-ready models now rather than generating them, Assets for Three.js (ours, not AI) sells ready-made GLB packs for three.js and WebGL: 1,106 component models and 139 assemblies in 18 packs, with a commercial licence. Packs run from £12 to £24 each, and the London Street Starter is free.