The shortlist
5 things that do it.
An AI summariser website for pasted text, articles and web pages, with paid plans that add books and YouTube videos.
- Free
- $0 per month plan with 10 summaries of texts, articles and web pages, per SMMRY's pricing page.
- Paid
- from $7 per month, Essential
- Best at
- Summarising an article or web page in the browser with nothing to install and a $0 plan.
- The catch
- The free plan is 10 summaries; the pricing page does not say over what period. Daily caps rise to 20 a day on Essential and unlimited on Advanced.
- web
A read-it-later app for articles, PDFs, EPUBs, newsletters and RSS, with an AI assistant called Ghostreader.
- Free
- Free for the first 30 days, then paid, per Readwise's pricing page.
- Paid
- from $9.99 per month (billed annually), full Readwise
- Best at
- Saving articles as you go and having them summarised automatically, alongside highlighting and notes.
- The catch
- No free plan after a 30-day trial. Auto-summaries cover documents you save yourself; feed items need your own OpenAI API key to be summarised automatically.
- web
- ios
- android
- mac
- windows
- chrome
Google's Gemini assistant built into the Chrome browser, which can summarise the article or page you are on, or several open tabs.
- Free
- No price for summaries stated on Google's Gemini in Chrome page.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Summarising a page without copying or pasting, straight from the Chrome toolbar.
- The catch
- Google says it is rolling out in selected regions, needs setup and is 18+; its page does not confirm UK availability.
- chrome
- windows
- mac
- android
An app of book summaries to read or listen to, with Blinkist AI on Pro for summarising articles, PDFs and videos.
- Free
- The UK Google Play listing offers a free 7-day trial with in-app purchases; no free plan seen.
- Paid
- price not checked
- Best at
- Getting the key ideas of a nonfiction book in about 15 minutes, from a library of 7,500+ book summaries.
- The catch
- Summarising your own articles needs Blinkist Pro. Prices are in-app purchases we could not see, and Blinkist's website blocked our request.
- android
A library of written book guides, plus article and topic guides, with audio narration and mobile apps.
- Free
- Shortform offers 'Sign up for free', but its pages do not say what a free account includes.
- Paid
- from $16.42 per month (billed annually)
- Best at
- Book guides at scale: 12,000+ books plus 1,000+ article and topic guides, with audio.
- The catch
- It summarises its own catalogue, not an article you paste in. What the free sign-up includes is not stated on its pages.
- web
- ios
- android
How they compare
Which one suits you, and why.
If you want it free
SMMRY is an AI summariser website for pasted text, articles and web pages. Its $0 per month plan gives you 10 summaries of texts, articles and web pages, in a browser with nothing to install. Paid plans add books and YouTube videos.
Articles are only half of it, of course, because plenty of what people want summarised is video. If that's you, I've put together a separate page on summarising YouTube videos: the answer is yes, and it covers NoteGPT as a dedicated YouTube summariser, plus Gemini finding a video and answering questions about it, and YouTube's own Ask tool.
The catch is the ceiling. The free plan is 10 summaries, and the pricing page does not say over what period. If you only summarise the occasional article, that may be enough. If you get through a pile every week, you will hit the limit.
If you read a lot and want summaries without extra steps
Readwise Reader is a read-it-later app for articles, PDFs, EPUBs, newsletters and RSS, with an AI assistant called Ghostreader. You save articles as you go and they are summarised automatically. Readwise says auto-summarisation of documents you save to your library is included in the subscription, using GPT-5 Mini by default, and you get highlighting and notes too. You can also upload PDFs.
What you give up is a free option. It is free for the first 30 days and then paid, from $9.99 per month billed annually or $12.99 billed monthly, and Reader comes with the full plan, not Lite ($5.59). It is a whole reading app on web, iOS, Android, Mac and Windows, with Chrome, Firefox and Safari extensions, so it is more than you need for a single summary.
If you already use Chrome
Gemini in Chrome is Google's Gemini assistant built into the Chrome browser. Google says it gives concise summaries of articles, pages or threads, and can turn several open tabs into one summary, straight from the toolbar with no copying and pasting.
The catch is availability. Google says it is rolling out in selected regions, needs setup and is for over 18s, and its page does not confirm UK availability. It does not give a price for summaries either, so we cannot tell you what it costs.
If you want the gist of a book in 15 minutes
Blinkist is an app of book summaries to read or listen to. Its UK Google Play listing offers 7,500+ book summaries you can get through in about 15 minutes, with a free 7-day trial. Shortform is a library of written book guides covering 12,000+ books, plus 1,000+ article and topic guides, with audio narration and apps for iOS and Android. Shortform is $16.42 per month billed annually or $24.00 billed monthly; it offers "Sign up for free", but its pages do not say what a free account includes.
Neither summarises an article you paste in. They cover their own catalogues, so if your book is not in the library, they cannot help. Blinkist AI, which summarises your own articles, PDFs and videos, needs Blinkist Pro, and the prices are in-app purchases we could not see.
When paying is worth it
Pay when you need more than SMMRY's 10 free summaries. Its Essential plan was shown at $7 per month, reduced from $14, for 20 summaries a day, and Advanced at $13 per month, reduced from $25, is unlimited and adds podcasts. Readwise Reader suits you if you also want to save and highlight what you read, because summaries are only one part of it.
What to watch for
The catches worth knowing first.
Gemini in Chrome is rolling out in selected regions and is for over 18s, and Google's page does not confirm UK availability. Check that you have it before you build a routine around it.
In Readwise Reader, auto-summaries cover documents you save yourself. Items in your Feed are not auto-summarised unless you add your own OpenAI API key, which then uses your own API credits. If a feed item has no summary, that is why.
Know which kind of tool you are choosing. SMMRY, Readwise Reader and Gemini in Chrome summarise what you give them. Blinkist and Shortform are libraries of book summaries, so they only cover the titles they list.
The same shortlist, as a table
| Thing | Free tier | Paid from | Platforms | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SMMRY | $0 per month plan with 10 summaries of texts, articles and web pages, per SMMRY's pricing page. | $7 per month, Essential | web | The free plan is 10 summaries; the pricing page does not say over what period. Daily caps rise to 20 a day on Essential and unlimited on Advanced. |
| Readwise Reader | Free for the first 30 days, then paid, per Readwise's pricing page. | $9.99 per month (billed annually), full Readwise | web, ios, android, mac, windows, chrome | No free plan after a 30-day trial. Auto-summaries cover documents you save yourself; feed items need your own OpenAI API key to be summarised automatically. |
| Gemini in Chrome | No price for summaries stated on Google's Gemini in Chrome page. | not checked | chrome, windows, mac, android | Google says it is rolling out in selected regions, needs setup and is 18+; its page does not confirm UK availability. |
| Blinkist | The UK Google Play listing offers a free 7-day trial with in-app purchases; no free plan seen. | not checked | android | Summarising your own articles needs Blinkist Pro. Prices are in-app purchases we could not see, and Blinkist's website blocked our request. |
| Shortform | Shortform offers 'Sign up for free', but its pages do not say what a free account includes. | $16.42 per month (billed annually) | web, ios, android | It summarises its own catalogue, not an article you paste in. What the free sign-up includes is not stated on its pages. |
How we checked
What we read, and what we haven't tested yet.
On 2026-10-02 we read SMMRY's homepage and pricing page, the Readwise Reader page, Readwise pricing and its Ghostreader help page, Google's UK Gemini in Chrome page, the Blinkist listing on Google Play (UK), and Shortform's homepage and pricing page. Blinkist's website, QuillBot and Perplexity blocked our requests, so they are not on the list. Nothing was tested hands-on, so this is what those pages say.
If none of these fit
The manual way.
Gemini in Chrome's page notes the Gemini web app works in other browsers too, but it cannot read the page content the way the Chrome version does, so you would paste the article in yourself. Blinkist and Shortform only cover the book titles in their libraries, so an article of your own is outside what they do.